SMMHA presents OMHA & OWHA Major Player Awards, News (St. Marys Minor Hockey)

News Article
News Article Image
May 12, 2023 | Rachael Torrance | 931 views
SMMHA presents OMHA & OWHA Major Player Awards
St. Marys Minor Hockey handed out the annual Major Player awards on Tuesday, May 2 at the PRC. Making presentations were the U18 coaches Adam Zurbrigg and Don Scott. 

Photos and writeup provided by Spencer Seymour of the St. Marys Independent Newspaper.


Donald K. Mossip Memorial Award
Pictured from left to right is U18 B Boys St. Marys Rock Head Coach Adam Zurbrigg and the team's goaltender Josh Ballantyne, who won the Donald K Mossip Memorial Award presented yearly to the most outstanding U18 goaltender. Ballantyne was described as the "backbone of the U18 B Boys and gave the team a chance to win every night."


Terry Crisp Award
Zurbrigg presented the Terry Crisp Award for being the most colourful and hardest working player to Ethan Brine. According to Zurbrigg, Brine was always "respectful yet challenged everyone to be better at their craft."


Mike Mattiusi Award
The Mike Mattiusi Award recognizing the most sportsmanlike player on and off the ice was presented to Lucas McCurdy. The Head Coach praised McCurdy as "a competitor who never complained and absorbed a ton of physicality" to help his teammates find more time and space on the ice.


Bob Searles Award
The Bob Searles Award for the SMMHA's most outstanding player went to co-winners Owen Boyd (middle) and Ian Boyd (right), who were recognized as "two of the U18 B Boys' most consistently dynamic offensive weapons and all-around leaders."



Lindsay Atkinson Memorial Award
Pictured from left to right are Don Scott, Head Coach of the U18 B Girls St. Marys Rock, and Lucy Petrie, who won the Lindsay Atkinson Memorial Award as the SMMHA's most sportsmanlike player on and off the ice. Petrie was described as "a pleasure to be around and a new member of the team who came in with a great attitude and did anything the team asked."


Dixies Award
Naeve Goris (middle) and Hailey Scott (right) were co-winners of the Dixies Award as the most skillful and hardest-working players. Both were described as "giving 100 percent effort every shift and every practice, and able to go out an any given time."


Doug Hicks Memorial Trophy
The Doug Hicks Memorial Trophy for outstanding leadership went to Natalie Johnston. According to coach Scott, Johnston "was always positive and worked incredibly hard in games and practices."


Ernie Little Trophy
The Ernie Little Trophy for the most outstanding goalie was presented to Matt Luyten. Scott praised Luyten for "giving the U18 B Girls team a chance to win every game."


(all photos by Spencer Seymour)