SMMHA Awards Night, News (St. Marys Minor Hockey)

PrintNews Article
Click to view full-size image
SMMHA Awards Night
Submitted By jbrock on Saturday, May 14, 2016
This past week, the St.Marys Minor Hockey annual player and coaching awards were presented to a number of well-deserving individuals.  In addition to the individual awards presented, special recognition was given to the three teams that represented SMMHA in provincial championships this season.

The St.Marys Landscaping Atom Girls earned a berth at the Provincial championships in Toronto in April.  The McDonald Independent Grocer Atom BBs played a tough series against Collingwood, and finished an excellent season as OMHA Finalists.  The Finnbilt General Contracting Novice BBs beat a tough Niagara-On-The-Lake team in the OMHA finals, to become OMHA champions, capping a very successful season of their own.

Congratulations to all of these players, coaches and families for representing St.Marys and SMMHA at the provincial level.

Special thanks were conveyed to Pat Payton and Stew Slater for the sports coverage this season in the Journal Argus.  Additional thanks to the St.Marys Independent for featuring teams throughout the season.

Special recognition for extraordinary perseverance, optimism and grit was given to Colton Hawkins, who returned to the Novice BB team after a very challenging start to his hockey season this year.


Female Players:

Ernie Little Trophy - Outstanding Female Goalie : Sarah Lucas
Lindsay Atkinson Memorial Award - Most sportsmanlike on & off ice : Samantha Bycraft
Doug Hicks Memorial Trophy - Outstanding Leadership by female player:  Nicole Boonstra
Dixies Award - Most skillful/hardest working female player:  Samantha Spence

Male Players:

Donald K. Mossip Memorial Award - Outstanding Male Goalie - Spencer Edgar
Mike Matussi Award - Most Sportsmanlike player on & off ice - Jayden Aylward
Terry Crisp Award - Most Colourful/Hardest Working player - Ben Armstrong
Bob Searles Award - Outstanding Male Player in SMMHA - Zach Smith

Volunteer Awards:

Ferris Stewart Memorial Award - recognizes excellence and dedication by a coach to players and SMMHA
Winner:  Bill Scheuerman

Pethick Memorial Award - recognizes outstanding volunteer contributions to SMMHA
Winner:  Mike Morning

Congratulations to all winnners, and nominees. A special thanks to all of the community partners who sponsor and present SMMHA awards on an annual basis.

This article has been viewed 11439 times.
News ArchiveOther Recent Articles
  • 19
    In accordance with the OWHA and OMHA policies, the following people need to provide proof of full vaccination (a person is considered fully vaccinated 14 days after their second dose) by October 31:   - Players born in 2009 or earlier - Coaches ...
  • 17
    Please take a look at the following schedule for your photo time.   To help things run on time, please arrive at the arena fully dressed, on time and with your order form filled out.  Even if you are not planning to order any photos, please have ...
  • 07
    Both OWHA and OMHA have put a vaccine mandate in place for all vaccine-eligible players (12+ or birth year 2009 or older), coaches, bench staff, SMMHA volunteers, game officials and instructors (spectators are not covered by these mandates).  This ...
  • 02
    All teams require a Head Coach (and coaching staff) in order for the players to participate in our hockey program. The following teams have a need for a Head Coach:   U11 Boys LL U13 Boys LL U15 Boys LL U9 Girls HL U11 Girls C   If you ...
  • 29
    Tryouts/Evaluations SMMHA would like to thank all players who have participated in Rep team tryouts/evaluations. As our Rep boys BB and girls BB/B tryouts/evaluations continue to come to a close, it will be important for all players/parents to ...
  • 25
    Reminder, before entering the PRC, please fill out the Town of St Marys Visitor & Contractor Screening Form....
  • 23
    Further to the tryouts posting on September 20, Rep Tryouts for U11 and above will officially begin on Saturday, September 25th. Please review the tryouts webpage and the calendar for all information. 
  • 21
    SMMHA has updated our COVID Protocols effective September 22, 2021.  Please read the full release, available here, prior to entering the PRC.
Printed from on Friday, October 22, 2021 at 8:34 AM