## St. Marys Minor Hockey Association Minutes for the Annual General Meeting Tuesday May 12<sup>th</sup>, 2024 – PRC Community Hall

In attendance: Jocelyne Gall, Kerry Wright, Rachael Torrance, Eileen Matheson, Tyler Dingman, Eric Sampson, Josh Becker, Brayden Lord, Rick Harburn, Greg St. Clair, Kelly Craigmile, Janet Edye, Ryan Harris, Jim Holliday, Marshall Graves, Mike Johnson, Lori Martin, Paul Williams, Bryan Foley, Dave Blake, Nathan Brown, Vanessa Lively, Jayden Rooney, Brandon Boyd, Sarafae Pattison, Mark Brintnell, Katharine Found, Brandon Boyd, Rich Ballantyne, Sarah Jeffrey

Regrets: Joe Wilhelm, Pat McLean

The meeting was called to order at 7:56pm by SMMHA President, Mark Brintnell.

Attendance was taken for all of those in attendance.

A Land Acknowledgement was given by Katharine Found.

## **Election of AGM Secretary:**

 Mark Brintnell nominated Katharine Found. to act as secretary for the AGM. Seconded by Tyler Dingman. Carried.

## Minutes from the May 2<sup>nd</sup>, 2023 SMMHA Annual General Meeting:

Moved to adopt the minutes as circulated by Tyler Dingman. Seconded by Paul Williams.
 Carried

#### President's Address: Mark Brintnell – SMMHA President

- Mark B. expressed his thanks to executive members, SMMHA staff, board of directors and players and families for their commitment to the minor hockey program. There has been a tremendous amount of change, that the association has had to navigate over the past several years. Everyone has been able to respond and pivot, to ensure a positive experience for the players.

## Presentation of the 2023-2024 Annual Report:

- Katharine Found presented the document, which will be available online, as a snap shot of the year that was for SMMHA. This will become an annual report, to capture the history and happenings of SMMHA.

#### Financial Report: Rich Ballantyne – SMMHA Treasurer

- A detailed financial report was circulated to all individuals in attendance. For those who were unable to attend, the report can be obtained if a request is sent to a member of the executive.

- The association budgeted a \$17,000 deficit however due to increased income from tournaments and rep fees and less than expected ice rental costs, the year ended with a profit of \$12,033.03
- Rich Ballantyne motioned to accept the 2023-2024 Financial Report. Seconded by Eileen Matheson. Carried.

#### **Rescission of Board of Director Position:**

- Mike Johnson motions to rescind the director position of Kelly Elliott (term expiring 2026).
  Seconded by Paul Williams.
  - Discussion: Removal of this director is due to having no presence and no communication with the association for the past year, and therefore is not fulfilling the requirements of the position.
  - Question: Did SMMHA attempt to make contact? Yes, emails were sent all year with no response. The individual expected their child to play in SMMHA last season, but that did not happen.
     Carried.

#### **Elections:**

## **Transfer of Meeting to Elections Coordinator and Scrutineer:**

- Mark B. transferred the control of the meeting to Elections Coordinator Brandon Boyd.
  Brandon Boyd. nominated Ryan Harris to act as Election Scrutineer. Seconded by Kerry Wright.
  - Carried.
- Brandon Boyd and Ryan Harris proceeded to conduct the election of SMMHA Directors, Executive and other elected positions for the 2024-2025 season.

# Brandon Boyd motioned to Open Elections. Motion seconded by Jocelyne Gall. Election of Directors:

- The following individuals were nominated by Brandon Boyd for a 3 year Board of Director position, with term expiring in 2027: Jocelyne Gall, Lori Martin, Amy Crummer, Pat McLean, Vanessa Lively, Rick Harburn, Lynsy Church
  - The following nominations were received from the floor: Sarafae Pattison, Eileen Matheson
  - All candidates were willing to let their name stand for the election of Director, term ending 2027.
  - Paul Williams moved the nominations be closed. All positions were acclaimed
- Kelly Craigmile nominated herself for Board of Director (term ending in 2026). Seconded by Mike Johnson.
  - No additional nominations were received from the floor.
  - o Paul Williams moved the nominations be closed. Position was acclaimed.

## **Election of President:**

- Mark Brintnell was nominated by Joe Wilhelm for the position of President. Mark let his name stand. No other nominations received. No motion or second needed as there were no other nominations.

Mark was thereby acclaimed as President for the 2024-2025 season.

#### Election of 1st Vice President:

 Joe Wilhelm was nominated by Mark Brintnell for the position of 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President. Joe let his name stand. No other nominations received. No motion or second needed as there were no other nominations.

Joe was thereby acclaimed as 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President for the 2024-2025 season.

## **Election of 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President:**

- Mike Johnson was nominated by Mark Brintnell for the position of 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President. Mike let his name stand. No other nominations received. No motion or second needed as there were no other nominations.

Mike was thereby acclaimed as 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President for the 2024-2025 season.

### **Election of Treasurer:**

- Rich Ballantyne was nominated by Mark Brintnell for the position of Treasurer. Rich let his name stand. No other nominations received. No motion or second needed as there were no other nominations.

Rich was thereby acclaimed as Treasurer for the 2024-2025 season.

## **Election of Secretary:**

- Katharine Found was nominated by Mark Brintnell for the position of Secretary. Katharine let her name stand. No other nominations received. No motion or second needed as there were no other nominations.

Katharine was thereby acclaimed as Secretary for the 2024-2025 season.

## **Election of the Coaches Committee members:**

- As read by Brandon Boyd, Joe Wilhelm motioned to accept Pat McLean and Janet Eyde as new members to the coaches committee, each for a three year term. Seconded by Paul Williams.
  - A recommendation report was circulated, highlighting the qualities and criteria that were assessed in all Coaches Committee applicants.
  - Question: what is the make up for representation on the Coaches Committee for OWHA and OMHA and various age cohorts? Very good diversity with both programs covered and most age cohorts represented.

Carried

With all positions filled and the elections complete, Jocelyne Gall motioned to close the elections. Seconded by Rachael Torrance. Carried.

There were no ballots to be destroyed at the conclusion of this election.

Election Coordinator, Brandon Boyd, transferred the meeting to the Incoming President

## **Incoming President's Address:**

- Mark B. thanked everyone for their participation and willingness to contribute to the growth and success of St. Marys Minor Hockey, by stepping up into a role. He is very proud to be part of SMMHA and represent this organization and he looks forward to working with the team this coming year to bring new energy and new opportunities to the organization.

## **Recognition of Outgoing and Retiring Directors:**

- Thank you to Reg Clinton, Chris Boyd, Jake Watt and Julie Pickering, for their many years of service and support of St. Marys Minor Hockey.

## **Motion to Adjourn:**

- A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Jocelyne Gall at 8:35pm. Seconded by Paul Williams.

## **Next Meeting:**

The next association Annual General Meeting will be held on Tuesday May 7, 2025

Minutes respectfully submitted by Katharine Found